The province has formed a new ministers’ council to work with Ottawa to deliver on key priorities and Nipissing MPP Vic Fedeli is involved.

Premier Doug Ford will chair the Council on Provincial-Federal Relations, which will collaborate with federal counterparts to deliver on priorities including infrastructure, health care and economic growth.

“Our government has a Plan to Build Ontario Together, and that plan includes working with the federal government,” said Ford in a release. “We are ready to work with the new federal Cabinet to get shovels in the ground quickly on important projects, increase health care funding and create an environment where businesses and job creators can thrive.”

The Council on Provincial-Federal Relations will be responsible for coordinating the engagement strategy with the federal government on important projects and shared priorities. The top priorities will include building critical infrastructure, from transit to broadband, faster by accelerating approvals for projects submitted through the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program and by ensuring the federal government funds their fair share of Ontario’s historic transit plan.

The Council will also work towards ensuring the federal government is providing increased funding through the Canada Health Transfer to end hallway health care and deliver the kind of care and treatment the people of Ontario deserve.

Additional priorities will include removing red tape and interprovincial trade barriers, attracting international investment to all parts of Ontario, including under-capitalized regions and creating the environment for workers, businesses and entrepreneurs to succeed.

“What’s good for Ontario is good for Canada, and what’s good for Canada is good for Ontario,” said Ford. “Through the Council on Provincial-Federal Relations, my ministers and I are ready to roll up our sleeves and deliver results for the people of Ontario and the people of Canada.”

Fedeli is Ontario’s Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade.

Also on the council are the ministers of Health, Transportation, Finance, Infrastructure and President of the Treasury Board.


(File photo by station staff)


Filed under: Nipissing MPP Vic Fedeli